He knows no fear!

Scotland long distance walks: Fife Coastal Path – part 1

Now that I had been in Scotland for eight years, I decided to tackle some of the long distance walks of Scotland. It is my plan to walk the famous West Highland Way (151 kms) sometime this summer which takes in the scenery of Glencoe and Loch Lomand. Eventuatally I am going to walk the Cape Wrath Trail (326 kms). The trail is mostly unmarked and passes through remote countryside that is extremely wild and rugged terrain. This trail is said to be Britains’s toughest walking route.

This website lists the long distance walks of Scotland:

http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/long-distance-routes.shtml

To make the most of the heat wave that we are experiencing in Scotland at the moment, I decided on a mini long distance trek this week. I decided to do the Fife Coastal Path from North Queensferry to St. Andrews (98 kms). My plan was to be self sufficent in carrying my own gear and camping out in the wild – no hotels or B&B. I had to carry five days supply of rations and water as well as my camping gear. I left on Sunday and came back yesterday. So it took me four days. I had planned on five days. So I was able to walk within my plan, not bad for the small cuddly toy that I am.

A map of the route.

This photograph shows my packing. The packed weighed 25kgs. That is 100 times my own body weight! When I came back yesterday it was 16kgs.

My kit consisting of five day supplies.

Large water bottles are not included in this picture which made up the bulk of my weight. Rations were compact style purchased from camping shops and army surplus stores. I only packed four days of food rations as I intended on eating pub meals at the East Neuk fishing villages.

The walk starts in the small village of North Queensferry.

The village takes its name from Saint Margaret of Scotland, the wife of King Malcolm III of Scotland.  She established the village to ensure there would be regular ferry crossings across the Firth of Forth for the benefit of pilgrims travelling to St. Andrews.

The Fife Coastal Path starts in North Queensferry under the famous Forth Rail Bridge.

The Forth Rail Bridge was opened in 1890 and is a total length of 2,528 metres. The bridge connects Edinburgh to Fife over the Firth of Forth.

The bridge was nominated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site last year and is now awaiting approval on the list.

It was a hot sunny day.

A sign next to a well marked the start of the path.

A sign marked the start of the Fife Coastal Path.

The well was used by travellers and horse carts in the old days.

The start of the Fife Coastal Path.

I was eager to start the walk.

With my suncream on, I was ready.

As I progress up the path, I looked back onto North Queensferry and the bridge.

The bridge shadows over the village of North Queensferry.

I had a long way to go and a heavy bag!

To be continued….

For more information on this leg of the Fife Coastal Path please visit:

http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/fife-stirling/n-q-burntisland.shtml

3 responses

  1. Good post. I’ve been wanting to get back into walking for awhile and this looks like a decent hike. I used to do a lot of marching with my CCF troupe at school. Did the Nijmegen marches in Holland three times and have the medals to prove it!!!

    March 29, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    • Thanks but if you are intending on the Fife Coastal Path, the route does goes through some dodgy areas like Buckhaven. In my opinion the Fife Council should be promoting this walk not starting from North Queensferry but from Lower Largo thus avoiding the gas terminal, the wind power production factories etc… From Lower Largo onwards, the walk is purely beaches, countryside and fishing villages.

      March 29, 2012 at 4:49 pm

      • great, I’ll keep that in mind

        March 29, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers