He knows no fear!

My trip to Mount Everest, Nepal in 2010 – part 1

It has been almost two years since my famous ascent of Mt. Everest thus becoming the first cuddly toy to climb to the summit of the highest mountain in the world. So today I had decided to write a travel blog on my Mt. Everest adventure from two years ago. This blog will be told over a number of posting over the coming weeks.

I flew to Kathmandu on Thai Airways flight TG319 from Bangkok Suvarnabhumi airport late one April morning. The flight was to be three and a half hours.

Thai Airways flight TG319 from Bangkok to Kathmandu

My travelling companion and guide for the expedition was a young british guy name Sherpa Paul whom had many years of mountaineering experience. I was to be safe in his hands. He was the organisor of the trip. He got me onto the Thai Airways flight free of charge by smuggling me inside his daysack.

I sat next to the window.

Once inside the aircraft, I was removed from the daysack and I sat next to the window.

I kept my seat belt, I don't like the turbulance!

The scenery was great as we flew over Burma. The jungle reminded me of home in Borneo.

Flying over Burma.

We arrived in Kathmandu after a three and a half hour flight. The tempertaure was great, really hot and sunny, not what I was expecting.

Arriving in Kathmandu.

I had a four week expedition ahead of me, and we start the next day. So I checked into my hotel for the night, ready for the flight to the Himalayans the next day.

Looking out of my room in the hotel.

The Kathmandu Guest House Hotel is located in the middle of Thamel district and is famous for it many famous guests over the years from the Beatles to Ricky Martin and Oscar winning actor Jeremy Irons. This hotel was an old colonial hot spot in it days.

The next morning, I had to get up at four thirty in time for my flight to Lukla airstrip (2,840m/9,317ft), in the Himalayans.

This small aircraft had twelve seats for passengers.

This aircraft was chartered just for our expedition team!

The pilots let me have a look in the cockpit of this DHC-6 Twin Otter aircraft.

My first sighting of the Himalayans was awesome.

I will never forget seeing the Himalayans for the first time.

After a sixty minute flight we approach the airstrip in the mountain village of Lukla.

The approach was hairy!!!! It was the edge of a mountain!

The History Channel in 2010, rated this airstrip as the most dangerous airport in the world! If the pilot got it wrong we would be flying into the edge of the mountain!

The plane lands on the airstrip at the mountain village of Lukla.

It was cold and damp when I got off the aircraft but I was excited.

I was excited being in Lukla, the gateway to the Himalayans.

The gateway to the Mt. Everest base camp route was before us.

The route to take to base camp.

But it was going to take ten days to get to base camp.

The start of the path to Mt. Everest.

The Mt. Everest basecamp route was to take ten days. The route is slow and steady, so that we could take in to the many cultural sights which are around every corner during the trek. Everest Base Camp is at a attitude of 5364 metres. Altitude sickness is an risk factor and my biggest concern, so our trek was to be slow designed around acclimatisation.

At the start of the path.

I was ready for my big trip! Before Mt. Everest I had only climbed Ben Nevis in Scotland, but with all my army training I knew that I was ready for anything….

To be continued….

4 responses

  1. Awesome photos, I can’t wait to read more about your adventure!

    January 26, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    • Thank you for your comment. I hope to get part 2 up sometime over the weekend but I am busy with work at the moment training up new cuddly toys recruits for the front line in Afghanistan busy busy busy – have you read my blogs about cuddly toys in the front line?

      January 26, 2012 at 10:32 pm

  2. Pingback: My trip to Iceland 2012 – part 3 « britisharmysgtmonkey

  3. Pingback: My travels to Thailand 2010 – part 1 « britisharmysgtmonkey

Leave a Reply

