He knows no fear!

My trip to Mount Everest, Nepal in 2010 – part 7

Today we were to trek to Lobuche (4,940m/16,207ft) and is about five hours bringing us close to our ultimate goal!

We climb up the valley and looked back onto Dingboche.

Overall altitude gain today is 490m.

The landscape was changing and ice was seen.

The scenery was changing each day and by now there was no vegetation at all.

I was glad we had a sunny day.

I kept going with the help of my porters whom carried me up when I got tired.

The peaks were stunning.

Tea houses were dotted regular along the route. Obviously Mt. Everest cater to the tourists now.

The path lay before us.

We began to see the icefall at the base of Mt. Everest.

The icefall below Mt. Everest can now be seen.

I was so tired after a week of trekking now.

I was cold!

The clouds dropped down by late afternoon and the temperature was dropping.

I was also tired!

After a few hours the track eventually leads to a small cluster of tea houses pleasantly situated at Lobuje.

I was glad to drop my backpack and to get inside my sleeping bag.

My backpack was heavy and the thin air made it harder for me to carry. I was glad that I had my guides, porters and Yak.

I was sleeping knowing that I was two days away from base camp.

Tomorrow we were to trek to the last building before Everest Base Camp.

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

