He knows no fear!

My trip to Mount Everest, Nepal in 2010 – part 8

From Lobuche we trek to the lodge at Gorak Shep (5,180m/17,126ft), the site of the 1953 expedition’s base camp.

The landscape before us was a wasteland.

Overall altitude gain today is 240m.

My luggage Yak was coming with me with my gear!

My luggage Yak was keeping up with my fast pace.

Awesome view.

Here we have astonishing views over the Himalayas.

All around us was stunning Himalayan peaks.

I was glad it was sunny but it was freezing!

We saw ice formation around us.

Eventually we saw the Khumbu Icefall where Everest Base Camp is just situated off.

First sighting of the Khumbu Icefall with Everest Base Camp just to the left.

We kept going heading for the lodge for the night in the small trekkers village of Gorak Shep.

Approaching Gorak Shep from the South.

Even though the trekking lodges at Gorak Shep are basic, in recent times more modern amenities have become available, such as satellite high-speed Internet access and a shop selling ‘Mars Bars’ etc….

I was glad we made it.

This was to be our final acclimatization stop before trekking to Everest Base Camp and we were heading out tomorrow morning for our final leg of our trek!

Our lodge for the night.

I was excited.

To be continued….

2 responses

  1. amazing….I wish I could go there soon:)

    January 30, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    • The next installment of my travel blog is now online. Read about how I became the first cuddly toy to conquer Everest!

      January 31, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Leave a Reply

