He knows no fear!

My trip to Mount Everest, Nepal in 2010 – part 10

I made it! After ten days on the go, I made it to Everest Base Camp.

Everest Base Camp at 5,364m/17,598ft.

We were at the foot of the Khumbu Icefall.

Everest Base Camp at 5,364m/17,598ft.

I was very tired but my Sherpa porters encourage me all the way. Without my porters, I wouldn’t had made it so I thank all of them one by one.

I thank each and every one of my porter team.

My Sherpas then put on traditional Nepali dancing costumes and gave me and the rest of the expedition team a traditional Nepali dance.

They put on a celebration dance for us.

Everest Base Camp soon became a party piece with dancing, booze and celebrations.

The dancers were really good.

One of my Sherpas then took a photograph of me posing at Everest Base Camp.

The infamous photo of me at Everest Base Camp

I did it, the first cuddly toy to make it to Everest!

POSTSCRIPT

A telegram was soon sent to London to confirm our wee monkey amazing achievement and within hours we received aknowledgement from the Guinness World Records that our wee monkey had become the FIRST cuddly toy to set foot on Everest! WOW!

After the party, our wee monkey flew back to the UK and reported back to the barracks for duty on the Monday morning.

– The End –

4 responses

  1. I am off to Nepal next month and would LOVE to do this. I love your blog – you’ve had such an adventure, it’s lovely to be able to share it with you.

    February 1, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    • Thank you for your comment. The people of Nepal were so friendly, I guess they never get to see many travelling cuddly toys. Anyway, I am off to Iceland in April and I hoping to do some ice diving – as you know I am a wee busy active cuddly toy!

      February 1, 2012 at 11:16 pm

  2. Reblogged this on Worldtrip Blog.

    February 17, 2012 at 12:35 am

    • Thank you for reblogging my story. I want to increase my fame as the travelling cuddly toy! My foster parents are taking me to Iceland in April so I hope to publish my adventures from Iceland soon afterwards. They are also taking me to Malta in June and then I am on my an army exercise in July so plenty of new stories of adventure and excitment coming out this year.

      After my Everest trip I need a good cleaning, so I am being put inside the washing machine this afternoon.

      February 17, 2012 at 11:07 am

Leave a Reply

