He knows no fear!

My climb up Ben Nevis in Scotland

Me and Auntie L. woke up to a lovely sunny summer morning. After a heavy bacon and sausage sandwich, I was ready to climb Ben Nevis – the highest mountain in the UK at 1344 metres.

At the start of the Ben Nevis path.

I was not happy at having to carry a 35 litre backpack weighing 12 kgs. I am only 30 cms tall! I wish Auntie L. would carry her own pack.

The hike up the mountain was long and slow going. Auntie L. was not at all keeping up with me.

We stop at a waterfall halfway up and ate our peanuts. I like them.

On the way up Ben Nevis.

Another check of the map  (see link: http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/maps/map4_2fw.shtml) and then we proceded on. A very steep climb from here onwards and into snow. YES snow!

At the top of Ben Nevis.

Auntie L. who is my adopted auntie was not keeping up with me and this made me a little annoyed *HUFF*. Anyway we got to the top and we ate our sandwiches.

At the top of Ben Nevis.

Many people go up this mountain and it is a bit of a tourist trap, but it is the “BIG ONE” in the UK.

Admiring the view from the summit.

It took us about six hours for the ten miles trek.

I had made it to the top.

For more information about Ben Nevis please visit:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Nevis

6 responses

  1. the 35 liter pack is so big for you. you can even pack yourself inside. haha!
    😛
    well on your last photo, what’s that at your back? an altar or something for offerings..

    March 10, 2012 at 6:00 am

    • I think it is a sacifice altar or something. I believe that the Scottish people sacifice monkeys to their Gods before going into battle. I recall seeing Mel Gibson sacificing a cuddly toy monkey in the Braveheart movie. You know the Scots are a bit crazy and I can’t understand a word they say also!?!

      March 10, 2012 at 6:32 am

  2. Nice weather Mr Monkey

    March 24, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    • Oi! It is Sgt. Monkey, not Mr. Monkey. Please respect the rank that I earnt!

      March 24, 2012 at 10:33 pm

  3. Pingback: Poll – Where’s Monkey? | britisharmysgtmonkey

  4. Pingback: Scotland long distance walks: West Highland Way – part 6 | britisharmysgtmonkey

Leave a Reply

