He knows no fear!

Scotland long distance walks: Fife Coastal Path – part 2

I was on my way in my trek.

Leaving North Queensferry, I was approaching the old industrial area of the Firth of Forth.

This area used to be heavy in industry, now it lays in waste.

The path follows a old industrial area.

The path follows the old industrial Inner Bay at Inverkeithing.

This area had an sense of history.

This bay told a story of industrial Britain history.

This old jetty was disused.

The Forth Rail Bridge could be seen behind me.

It was possible to see the bridges behind me with good views back to the Forth Bridge.

Soon I came in Dalgety Bay, which had just been exposed as a site for radioactive dumping during the war.

This church became disuse around 1830.

The path headed inland to avoid the gas terminal. The path rejoined the coast at the little fishing village of Aberdour.

This harbour was a good place for lunch.

I stopped here for a little lunch.

The path passes through woods with this waterfall.

The path followed the coastline.

Soon I came across Seafield Tower, I heard seals here but never saw any.

This ruined castle dates back to the 16th century.

The Fife Coastal Path then passes through Kirkcaldy. But, luckly for me, the tide was out so I walked along the beach rather then the 1.5 km promenade of Kirkcaldy seafront.

The tide was out so I walked along the beach.

At the far end of Kirkcaldy bay was Ravenscraigs Castle built for King James II.

This ruin castle was engulfed by Kirkcaldy.

This castle was engulfed by Kirkcaldy town but was a pleasent surprise to see in the town.

Me at Ravenscraig Castle.

I stopped here for a bite to eat and coffee using my camping stove.

This castle was big and impressive.

I had a good look around.

This castle was in ruins but still impressive.

The castle gave a superb vantage point along the coastline.

Overlooking the beach at Kirkcaldy.

Through Ravenscraig Park was the dovecot.

This old dovecot was used to provide meat for the castle.

Eventually the path continues through a tunnel that has been cut into the rocks.

The tunnel emerge on to Dysart Harbour.

At the other end of the tunnel was the village of Dysart.

Dysart Harbour was picturesque with the famous restored Harbourmaster's House in the background.

Dysart is famous for it newly restored 16th century Harbourmaster’s House, a listed building.

Outside Dysart was this old coal mine that shut down just after the miners strike of the 1980s.

This old mine was closed in the 1980s.

The path follows across an attractive bay, with the cottages of  West Wemyss visible at the far end.

The bay led to the village of West Wemyss.

I stopped here for a snack.

The weather was sunny.

I had been on my wee feet all day and the stitches in my poorly cotton feet were coming apart. So, I needed to set up camp for the night and sew myself up again.

The sun was setting and time to pitch up camp.

I was almost halfway on my long trek.

To be continued….

For more information on this leg of the Fife Coastal Path please visit:

http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/fife-stirling/n-q-burntisland.shtml

http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/fife-stirling/burntisland-east-wemyss.shtml

Leave a Reply

