He knows no fear!

Scotland long distance walks: Fife Coastal Path – part 3

From West and East Wemyss, I followed the shoreline past through a series of sea caves said to contain Neolithic carvings from 5000 years ago. I did not go inside as I get scare of the dark, I am only a wee cuddly toy and a bat may try to eat me.

Next to the caves is Macduff’s Castle which is in ruins.

The castle believed to be the second one on this site was in ruins.

The path leaves the coastline and heads through the industrial town of Buckhaven. This is the least attractive part of the Fife Coastal Path and the coastline of Buckhaven and Methil is now a construction yard for offshore wind farm pumps.

Passing through the urban areas of Buckhaven and Methil, I pass the golf course and come across the town of Lower Largo.

Totem-pole sculpture called the 'Malagan' in Lower Largo, created by local artist Alan Faulds.

Robinson Crusoe creator Alexander Selkirk came from Lower Largo.

Leaving Lower Largo, I trek up the 3km long beach of Largo Bay.

The long sandy shore of Largo Bay.

This beach was so quiet and the remoteness of the beach means that noone else was here. The beach had many shells on the sand, and also WWII defences.

The cliffs at the end of the beach form Kincraig Head.

I was admiring the view, it was so different from the jungles of Borneo.

The famous ‘Chain Walk’ is here, but the tide was in for me to climb the chains plus I had a heavy bag on that was a hundred times my own body weight.

Following the cliff and around the head point, I soon was soon able to see the village of Elie.

From the top of the cliffs, there are good views down to Elie.

After a wee bite to eat in the local tavern, I carried on to the next fishing village on my route.

St. Monan's Castle lay in ruins.

I came across another ruined castle before coming to up to the village of St. Monan.

The fishing village of St. Monan.

This little village of St. Monan claims to have the closest church to the sea in the UK.

This church is right on the shoreline.

The grassy moulds outside St. Monan used to be industrial with salt pans. A windmill still stands here that once powered the salt pan houses.

This windmill was used for the salt pan houses.

Moving on I reached Anstruther which is the largest of the East Neuk fishing villages.

Anstruther is the largest of the East Neuk fishing villages.

Anstruther was once a thriving fishing village but now relies on tourism. The Scottish Fisheries Museum is here.

I was enjoying this wee fishing village.

Anstruther is famous for its fish and chips with many awards being won here by it local fish and chip shops. I decided to try one. Not the usual diet for a cuddly toy monkey but I had earnt the treat.

Anstruther is famous for it fish and chips.

After my fish and chips lunch, I headed off towards Crail.

To be continued….

For more information on this leg of the Fife Coastal Path please visit:

http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/fife-stirling/east-wemyss-lower-largo.shtml

http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/fife-stirling/largo-st-monans.shtml

http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/fife-stirling/st-monans-anstruther.shtml

Leave a Reply

