He knows no fear!

Scotland long distance walks: Fife Coastal Path – part 4

My next leg was to trek from Anstruther to my campsite at Kingsbarns.

Leaving Anstruther, I came across Cellardyke harbour. This harbour dates back from 1452 and was known as Skinfast Haven. Previously this was one of the most important harbours in Scotland.

This harbour was once one of the most important harbours in all Scotland.

These days, the harbour is quiet and is used by the local residents to hang up the washing. A few fishing boats still use this harbour.

The harbour was charming.

Cellardyke was the place in the UK that an instance of avian bird influenza was confirmed. A dead swan was found floating in Cellardyke harbour on March 29th 2006. Blood samples from the swan confirmed a positive strain and was identified as the highly pathogenic H5N1 variant.

The incident brought worldwide media attention to Cellardyke harbour and started the Bird Flu hysteria in the UK. However, it has since been suggested that the migrating swan could have died in another country and been washed up on the British coastline.

Leaving Cellardyke harbour, the path becomes muddy as I pass a pig farm. From here, it is possible to see across the Forth to see Bass Rock and the Isle of May.

Views over the Forth to the Isle of May.

Leaving the Pig farm the path passes a distinctive rocky formation with a series of holes into a row of natural arches known as The Coves.

The path passes next to a distinctive rocky formation.

I stopped here to put my stove on for a cuppa.

The rock formations were weird!

The views across the rocky shoreline was great and the sunshine was giving me sunburn on my fluffy cotton fur.

Admiring the view out to the sea.

The path takes me to the fishing village of Crail.

Me admiring the fishing harbour in Crail.

Crail is a former royal burgh of the East Neuk region. Crail was made a royal burgh by Robert the Bruce in 1310.

Crail is perhaps the most photographed harbour of the East Neuk fishing villages.

Crail is popular with day tourists from nearby Edinburgh.

This harbour is said to be the most stunning of the East-Neuk fishing villages.

Despite tourism, the harbour is still a busy working fishing harbour.

The harbour was a real working fishing harbour.

As I walked around the harbour, fishermen were unloading their catches.

Fishing boats were off-loading their stock.

Live lobsters were popular here.

I ain't touching any Lobsters.

Leaving Crail, the path to Kingbarns is the remotest part of the Fife Coast Path.

Signs marked the way on the Fife Coastal Path.

The path passes Fife Ness which is a headland forming the most eastern point in Fife.

The lighthouse and the Coastguard station at Fife Ness.

A Coastguard station and a lighthouse is here as well as a old disused harbour which is still visible amongst the rocks here.

It was late afternoon so I set up my stove for scoff.

I decided to cook Chilli Con Carne for dinner.

After dinner, I walked pass a number of golf courses that were on the shoreline. Fife is famous for golf. I never played golf as I am worried that my opponent would try to swing me 200 yards down the fairway.

The sun was setting as I walked along side the golf course.

I decided to walk under the setting sun to make it to Kingsbarns for the night.

The sun sets on my third night of my long distance trek.

Tomorrow was to be my final leg to of my long distance walk. I was expecting to get to St. Andrews mid-morning.

I had planned on five days for this trek, but was now looking at completing the trek in four.

I was a day ahead of schedule and was only 8 miles from St. Andrews.

For more information on this leg of the Fife Coastal Path please visit:

http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/fife-stirling/anstruther-crail.shtml

http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/fife-stirling/crail-kingsbarns.shtml

Leave a Reply

