He knows no fear!

My trip to Iceland 2012 – part 1

A few weeks ago I was in Iceland. For a cuddly toy monkey, the icy glaciers of Iceland was a wee bit cold for my cotton fur. I am not used to the icy environment as I grew up in the jungles of Borneo. But you all know me, I am a tough little fluff ball.

I planned for a week stay with plans for horse riding, scuba diving and trekking the volcanic land.

A map of Iceland.

I took the Icelandair flight from Scotland to Iceland, it was to be a two hour flight.  I have never been so far North before. Iceland is in the North Atlantic Ocean, and is just outside the Artic Circle.

I was studying the computer screen to see where Iceland was.

I was eager to see Iceland from the air.

I was looking out the window for my first glimpse of Iceland.

I saw Iceland from the air. Iceland is a geologically young land approximately 14000 years old and is on the Mid-Atlantic Ridge, which runs right through it. This means that the island is very active with volcanic eruptions.

Iceland soon came into view.

The capital of Iceland is Reykjavík which was to be my home for the next seven nights. I was eager to look around Reykjavík. The Hallgrímskirkja Church is the tallest building in Reykjavík and was to give the best view of the capital.

The church is situated in the centre of Reykjavík and is one of the city’s best-known landmarks.

I went up the tower.

I was glad a lift took me most of the way up the tower.

The church is a Lutheran (Church of Iceland) parish church and is at a height of 74.5 metres.

From the observation platform, I was able to see all of Reykjavík.

Reykjavík is the largest city in Iceland with a population of around 120,000 (and over 200,000 in the Greater Reykjavík Area). It is the the world’s northernmost capital of a sovereign state at a latitude at 64° N.

I was glad it was a sunny day for the view.

I went to the fishing harbour to look around.

The harbour was pleasant with the snow top mountains in the distance.

I was curious to see Höfði House and is the house in which Gorbachev and Reagan met in 1986 for the Iceland Summit which begain the process of ending the Cold War.

This house was the meeting point for the two superpower leaders and now I was here!

This house had been used for many summits and meetings of world leaders.

This house seen some great leaders over the course of time and also me!

I then went to the Icelandic Phallological Museum, which houses the world’s largest collection of penises and penile parts.

The museum was very interesting!

By July 2011, it had 276 penises taken from 46 species, including Homo sapiens. Its collection includes 55 penises taken from whales, 36 from seals and 118 from land mammals. The largest penis on show is the blue whale’s penis measuring 170 centimetres (67 in) long and weighing 70 kilograms (150 lb). That made me a bit jealous as my own penis is only 2 cms long!

After seeing so many penises and penile parts – I had to lie down!

To be continued….

For more information about Iceland please visit:

www.visiticeland.com

4 responses

  1. Lagos

    This is so funny!

    May 8, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    • Having a wee dingy 2 cms willy is no funny matter!

      May 8, 2012 at 10:55 pm

      • Lagos

        Oh sorry sergeant monkey I meant it was masculine and manly.

        May 8, 2012 at 10:58 pm

      • I am flattered!

        Mrs. Robinson are you trying to seduce me?

        May 8, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Leave a Reply

