He knows no fear!

My travels to Thailand 2010 – part 1

For my next blog about my adventures and travels I am going to talk about my visits to Thailand and in particular about my 2010 visit. The trip to Bangkok in 2010 was a week stopover whilst on my way to Kathmandu for my Mount Everest trek. See here for my blog of my Mount Everest trek: https://britisharmysgtmonkey.wordpress.com/2012/01/26/my-trip-to-mount-everest-nepal-in-2010-part-1/

I have been to Bangkok some forty times over the last decade or two as I enjoy the company of other monkeys to chat and party with. I get lonely in Scotland as there is no monkeys here in the highlands, just rain.

On my first day in Bangkok, I was going to see the temples starting with Wat Arun first.

Me about to cross the river by river taxi to Wat Arun.

Wat Arun is on the west side of the Chao Phraya River and therefore not many tourists visit this temple as it is away from the east bank where most tourists hang about.

Wat Arun means Temple of the Dawn.

Wat Arun means the Temple of the Dawn named after Aruna, the Indian God of Dawn.

The temple was quiet and not so touristy.

Whilst I was there, the temple was having restoration work done on it.

Workmen were restoring the temple at the time of my visit.

From top of Wat Arun I was able to see all of Bangkok.

From the top of Wat Arun, I could see all of Bangkok.

I decided to have a wee walk around the temple grounds.

The park around Wat Arun was nice.

This temple is used by studying Buddhist monks.

This monk was in the park grounds.

I then decided to visit Wat Pho, the most popular temple for tourists in Bangkok.

Wat Pho is known as the Temple of the Reclining Buddha.

This temple is famous for it 43 metre long reclining buddha.

Wat Pho is the most famous temple in Bangkok.

This temple is very very touristy.

I was having a look around Wat Pho.

The grounds of the temple has many smaller buddhas on show.

This temple is large with many smaller buddhas on show.

The famous school of Thai traditional massage is within the grounds of the temple. However, this should not be confused with the infamous body massages of Soi Cowboy! *blushs*

This is the most touristy Wat in Bangkok.

This wee cat was following me around the temple.

This temple is popular with tourists.

The temple was restored in 1982.

Many buddhas are in this temple.

After visiting Wat Pho, I decided to visit the Golden Mount temple.

Wat Saket is also known as the Golden Mount.

The temple is on top of a small hill and therefore is a prominent feature of Bangkok.

This temple is on the top of a small hill.

It is one of the oldest temples in Bangkok, dating back to Rama 1 era.

I could see all of Bangkok from this temple.

After seeing the temples, I went to the local park to watch the football.

It was the Elephant Football World Cup. I think Argentina was winning.

They play football with elephants here!

After a day of sightseeing, I took the skytrain back to my rented appartment. But, when I came to my front door, I found that a Siamese Crocodile was blocking my entrance!

This Siamese Crocodile was about two metres long.

I s**t myself!

I thought I was going to be eaten!!!

Did our wee monkey get eaten!!! Find out in “My travels to Thailand 2010 – part 2”.

To be continued….

For more information on Bangkok please visit:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bangkok

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wat_Arun

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wat_Pho

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wat_Saket

Leave a Reply

