He knows no fear!

My travels to Thailand 2010 – part 2

Having survived my encounter with the Siamese Crocodile, I was eager to see the rest of Bangkok had to offer.

I was staying at the Suk 11 hotel which is one of my favourite hotel/appartments in downtown Bangkok.

The entrance to the Suk 11 hotel.

The gardens to this hotel are stunning and has the old traditional Bangkok feel about it.

A traditional Bangkok pedicycle.

Both the roof top gardens and the outdoor gardens have old traditional pedicycles on show. These are no longer see on Bangkok street as motorised tuks-tuks are used now.

The sun canopy over the hotel gardens.

This hotel has it showers outdoors, on the balconys!

I was not keen on having a shower on the balcony exposing myself to all of Bangkok population.

I must say exposing my naked furry body on the balcony is an experience.

I was keen to explore the floating markets of Bangkok and the surrounding area.

Taking the longtail boat to the floating market.

The most famous of the floating markets is Damnoen Saduak, about 100 kilometers southwest of Bangkok.

I had to take an early morning longtail boat to get there.

This market is the most famous floating market in Thailand.

This buzzing market is at its best in the early morning before the crowds arrive and the heat of the day builds up.

I was looking down onto the market from the bridge.

This seller was cooking and selling BBQ from her wee boat.

All sort of food and vegetables can be sought here.

It was very touristy here.

The floating market is very touristy and somehow the market doesn’t feel genuine anymore. I did not see any Thai buyers in any of the stalls.

I was enjoying my green tea.

I then took the boat back to Bangkok.

Taking in the scenery of the cruise.

Those crocodiles sniffed me out again for lunch.

GULP!

Apparently crocodiles like eating monkeys!

I made it back to Bangkok and I was getting ready for a night out in the famous redlight district of Bangkok. Apparently the monkeys here are sooooo sexy. Not sure what my foster Auntie L. would make of that if she knew what her adopted wee cuddly toy was doing!

Getting ready for a night out on the town.

That night I met a Thai prostitute monkey name “Pom”. For more stories about my time with the monkey name “Pom” please visit: https://britisharmysgtmonkey.wordpress.com/2011/10/23/sex-scandal-monkeys-secret-love-child/

The next morning I decided to visit the Bridge on the River Kwai at Kanchanaburi. This day trip was already mentioned in a previous travel blog of mine here: https://britisharmysgtmonkey.wordpress.com/2011/09/13/great-railway-journeys/

After the tour I wanted to visit the shopping malls in modern Bangkok central but huff you know how politics goes here. Corruption in elections, people protest then riots. Whilst I was in Bangkok central a riot broke out, protestors were killed and the Thai army moved in! A curfew was declared.

The rioters trashed this bank in Silom Square.

This shopping mall got torched.

This shopping mall got torched.

This cinema got torched also.

This road is usually packed with traffic, but was quiet due to the riots.

With a curfew in place, I was confined to my hotel for the night and wasn’t able to go out to the bars.

Did our wee monkey manage to see anything else in Bangkok, found out in “My travels to Thailand 2010 – part 3”.

To be continued….

For more information on the Bangkok political crisis please visit:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2008%E2%80%932010_Thai_political_crisis#Bangkok_unrest

Leave a Reply

