He knows no fear!

My trip to Malta and Gozo 2012 – part 3

Having recovered from my infected foot injury I was ready to continue sightseeing around Gozo.

At breakfast I was going over the “holy” lonely planet guide book to see where I could go today.

I was reading up about Gozo from my travel guide book.

First on my sightseeing trip was to see the Inland Sea. The Inland Sea is a lagoon of seawater linked to the sea through an opening formed by a narrow natural arch.

The Inland Sea is connected to the sea by a small tunnel.

Also near the Inland Sea is the Azure Windowis a natural arch featuring a table-like rock over the sea.

Part of this window collapsed only a few months ago.

In the foreground of this photograph is the Blue Hole, a famous dive site on the Island of Gozo.

Last April a large part of the window fell off and made the window larger, more unstable and losing its almost perfect oblong shape. The Maltese authorities expects the window to completely crumble away soon and thus they had already got a name planned for the new rock feature when this does happens. It will be called the Azure Pinnacle.

The window is a popular cliff jumping platform for the stupid. This youtube clip is one such idiot (but funny):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PegJqnzMEn8

The shores around the Azure Window are known for it fossils.

The beach around the window had many fossils.

It is illegal to take any fossils from the beaches in Gozo.

The Azure Window comes with it own set of toilets.

I needed a pee!

Around Gozo were many watchtowers. The towers were built by the Knights of St John to serve as a communication system for the knights as they provided a 360-degree view of the surrounding waters.

Many watchtowers were built around the coastline of Gozo.

Another natural landmark near the Azure Window is Dwejra Bay with it 80 metre high sea cliffs.

The sea cliffs around Dwejra Bay.

It was 4pm and the the air tempertaure was starting to go down. I decided to go on a 10km countryside walk around the north coast of Gozo.

I went for a 10km walk in the late afternoon.

I started the walk in the town of Għarb in the north of Gozo.

The countryside was lovely.

Near the start of the walk was the Shrine of Our Lady of Ta’ Pinu which is a Roman Catholic parish church and minor basilica located some 700 metres (2,300 ft) away from the village of Għarb. The church is dedicated to Blessed Virgin of Ta’ Pinu.

The church was big.

Pope John Paul II celebrated mass here in May 1990. In April 2010, Pope Benedict XVI came here to place a er…. um…. *ahem* a rose at the front of the devotional image of Our Lady Of Ta’ Pinu whatever….

Plenty of grapes growing at this time of the year.

The walk took me along several vine farms.

Many villages had the Virgin Mary statue in its square.

Northern Gozo is very quieter than the rest of Gozo.

Gozo had many churches and chapels.

For a small island, Gozo has many churchs(46 in all) and numerous smaller chapels.

The setting sun made the buildings glow bright orange.

I kept walking untill sunset.

Dusk over the farm fields.

After my day sighting, I was eager to go to bed early as it was June 24th a.k.a Christmas 2 Eve. Christmas 2 is a the summer version of Christmas celebrated on June the 25th. Six months after December 25th. It is celebrated in June because the people of Europe are fed up having to celebrate Christmas in the middle of winter when it is tooooo bloody cold to celebrate anything. So, we moved Christmas to June and called it Christmas 2.

N.B. People from Australia please don’t move Christmas to June or you will have a miserable cold Christmas as well! Stick to December 25th.

I set up a hidden camera in the living room hoping to get a glimpse of Santa delivering my presents.

I saw Santa!!!

The next morning was Christmas 2 Day and I put on my Santa costume.

I decided to dress up as Santa myself.

I then got drunk and tried to pull some Maltese girls.

I got the booze out and party I did.

With the celebrations over, I vomitted over my Auntie’s bed and crashed out.

The next morning I was going over to the Island of Malta for sightseeing.

To be continued….

For more information on sightseeing around Gozo please visit:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santwarju_tal-Madonna_ta%27_Pinu

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Azure_Window

Leave a Reply

