He knows no fear!

My trip to Malta and Gozo 2012 – part 4

I woke up the next day very hungover after the Christmas 2 celebrations.

Today I was going to visit the Island of Malta by taking the Gozo ferry for a day trip.

It was a good day for sailing.

I was very hungover after last night’s Xmas 2 party and I felt ill on this ferry crossing.

This clip is the Gozo Ferry crossing when it is bad!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lM1inxAz0_g

And this clip was exactly how my aching head felt: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njt8Ae7Dqhc&feature=related

That was exactly how I felt!

Last night Xmas 2 celebrations hangover made me ill on this ferry trip.

My first stop in Malta was the Blue Grotto cave. It is a number of sea caverns on the south coast of Malta.

Apparently this is the most popular tourist attraction in Malta.

The caves combined with the sunlight lead to the water mirroring showing numerous shades of blue.

This cave is very popular with tourists.

I first viewed the caves from above from a viewing platform.

I was impressed by these caves.

I was eager to see the caves from the inside.

I was eager to get a boat out and have a closer look.

From the nearby fishing village of Wied iz-Żurrieq (pronounced weird-is-surriiieeeeuuuu – I think!) it is possible to go on a boat trip to the caves for the sum of eight Euros with no discount for cuddly toys.

The weird plantations in Malta.

It was a 200 metre walk down the road to the fishing harbour of Wied iz-Żurrieq.

The fishing harbour near the Blue Grotto.

This harbour was a tourists trap with loads of restaurants and tour boats.

WW2 defences around the fishing harbour.

The entrance to the harbour had a WW2 defensive position.

The cave complex at the Blue Grotto.

The boat trips coast eight Euros and last 20-25 minutes.

This rock formation looks like a scary face!

I saw all of the caves with some weird formations and phosphorescent colours of the underwater flora.

About 1km from the Blue Grotto is more of the Megalithic Temples of Malta.

Two temples are here, that is the Ħaġar Qim Temple and the Mnajdra Temple. Both were added to the UNESCO World Herritage Site list in 1980.

This temple is on the southern coast of Malta.

Unlike the temple in Gozo, these two temples were shielded from the weather by protective tent constructions.

The temple was a 500 metres walk from Ħaġar Qim temple.

The two temples were 500 metres apart.

Column at the Mnajdra Temple.

The temples were well built and I believe that Balfour Betty were the contractors back then.

The entrance to Mnajdra temple.

It was expensive to view these two temples at a price of nine Euros (no discount for cuddly toys). The temple complex in Gozo was five Euros.

This temple had a protective tent built over it in 2009.

These two temples are thought to be 5600 years old.

One of the rooms inside the temple.

It is not exactly known what the temples were built for, but some research does indicate that cuddly toys were sacrificed here for the Gods.

After seeing the temples, I caught the bus to Valletta. The capital of Malta and another UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The name of the city comes from Jean Parisot de la Valette, who defended the island from the Ottoman invasion in 1565.

The entrance to the Grand Harbour.

The Grand Harbour is heavily guarded with many forts from the centuries of history here. This photograph is Fort Saint Elmo, now the Maltese Police training academy.

The harbour of Valletta.

During WW2, the Italians and the Germans lay siege and bombed the harbour. The siege was broken in August 1942 with Operation Pedestal which suceeded in getting supplies to Malta. In recognition of their fortitude during the siege and air attack, Malta was awarded the George Cross.

The harbour was big and well fortified.

The harbour had many forts and defences around it.

Me looking over the Grand Harbour.

Small fishing ports and ramps were around the harbour.

The charming coastline of Valletta city.

Leaving the harbour I went back inside the city walls to see the city itself. Valletta was built from the 16th century onwards, during the rule of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem (also known as Knights Hospitaller).

The city is a World Heritage Site.

The city was made a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1980.

St. Johns Co-Cathedral in the centre of Valletta.

The city has signs of old British rule.

Signs of old British rule remains.

Many of the narrow lanes of the city remains untouched over the years.

Very little had changed in Valletta over the years.

I saw this fat cat sleeping on a washing line! How did it balanced itself?

This fat cat was sleeping on the washing up lines.

I had now been sightseeing for over ten hours now and my wee cotton fur feet were aching.

It was getting late.

I was starving so I went to a restaurant before grabbing the ferry back to Gozo.

The next few days, I was going to get my wee cotton fur wet with some scuba diving.

After two weeks in Gozo I flew back to the UK and ready for my next secret mission behind enemy lines.

For more information on sightseeing around Malta please visit:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C4%A6a%C4%A1ar_Qim

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mnajdra

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blue_Grotto_(Malta)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valletta

2 responses

  1. OMG…..I am going in October!!!!! GREAT POST and great PHOTOS!!!..so happy to have see the pictures!!! I am so excited!!!

    Cheers:)

    Sorry to have drop a link in here but wordpress.com don’t allow wordpress.org to log in:(( So weird:)) Will come by from time to time;))

    http://www.edgymix.com

    July 10, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    • Check out my other travel stories from Thailand, Nepal, Egypt, Cyprus, France, Spain, Italy and Iceland also on this blog. See the links to the right. Do keep a eye out for me when you are travelling yourself. I am easy to spot as I am a travelling cuddly toy monkey!

      July 10, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Leave a Reply

