He knows no fear!

My trip to Tenerife, Spain in 2012 – part 3

On my last day in Tenerife, I was going to Mount Teide (Pico del Teide). This is a volcano peak and the third highest volcano in the world, after Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa in Hawaii. It stands at 3,718-metre (12,198 ft) and is the highest peak in Spain. It is still active as an volcano but is currently dormant. The last eruption occurred in 1909 from the El Chinyero vent.

This is the highest mountain in Spain.

This is the highest mountain in Spain.

The volcano is within the Teide National Park and was named a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 2007.

The park was declared a World Heritage Site in 2007.

The park was declared a World Heritage Site in 2007.

I parked the car at the Park HQs near the Roque Cinchado rock formation.

The car park at Park HQs.

The car park at Park HQs.

It was a sunny clear day and I wanted to get a photo of me next to the volcano.

It was a sunny clear day for my trek.

It was a sunny clear day for my trek.

The Roque Cinchado is a unique rock formation within the Teide National Park and is located about 1700 metres below the summit of Teide volcano. With the volcano in the background, this is a great location for photographs.

The Roque Cinchado rock formation with the volcano in the background.

The Roque Cinchado rock formation with the volcano in the background.

I was going to be trekking around the rock formations.

Lava rock could be seen around the formations.

Lava rock could be seen around the formations.

I trekked for two hours.

The lava was solid and was clear to see.

The lava was solid and was clear to see.

After my trek I was hungry and ate my sandwiches in the Park HQs.

I was enjoying my packed lunch sandwiches.

I was enjoying my packed lunch sandwiches.

My Colonel phoned me and asked me to return back to the barracks for a secret mission behind enemy lines.

For more information on Teide National Park please visit:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teide_National_Park

Leave a Reply

