He knows no fear!

My trip to Copenhagen, Denmark in 2013 – part 1

I spent last week in Copenhagen in Denmark. It was cold and icy but the skies were clear and I managed to take great photographs.

On my first day I was going to go to the new harbour (Nyhavn) for an early morning cuppa then off to the palace to see the changing of the guards, and then finally to see the wee famous Little Mermaid.

Nyhavn has many bars and cafes.

Nyhavn has many bars and cafes.

The new harbour is known as Nyhavn and is a 17th century waterfront with many cafes and bars. Stretching from Kongens Nytorv to the harbour front just south of the Royal Playhouse, it is lined by brightly coloured 17th and early 18th century townhouses.

I was glad it was sunny skies here.

I was glad it was sunny skies here.

The harbour has many old historical wooden ships adding to the charms of the waterfront.

The waterfront has charm to it.

The waterfront has charm to it.

Near Nyhavn is Amalienborg Palace and it is the winter home of the Danish Royal family.

It consists of four identical palace façades around an octagonal courtyard. In the centre of the square is a monumental equestrian statue of Amalienborg’s founder, King Frederick V.

Amalienborg Palace was originally built for four noble families. But in 1794, Christiansborg Palace burnt down and the royal family moved in.

At midday each day, the changing of the guards takes place at the Palace. As a training sergeant, I was eager to inspect the guards and see how they match to the British.

The guards was eager to stare each other out!

The guards was eager to stare each other out!

Eventually two of the guards were out witted by the excessive staring and marched off!

Eventually two of the guards were out witted by the excessive staring and marched off!

The Captain of the Guards asked me personally to be the inspecting cuddly toy. I was honoured to be of service to Danish royality.

I was inspecting the Guards.

I was inspecting the Guards.

I was able to get up close to the Guards for these great photographs. I picked them up for fluff on uniform and not highly polish boots but with my sharp drill voice I got them up to standard.

These Guards were very well turned out.

These Guards were very well turned out.

After seeing the Palace Guards, the Queen of Denmark then invited me inside the Palace for tea and scones.

I then went back to the waterfront to see the famous Little Mermaid statue.

This statue has become an iconic landmark of Copenhagen.

This statue has become an iconic landmark of Copenhagen.

The statue is based on a fairy tale by Hans Christian Andersen.

This statue is on the waterfront of Copenhagen.

This statue is on the waterfront of Copenhagen.

The statue has been a tourist attraction since it was unveiled in 1913.

To be continued….

For more information about Copenhagen please visit:

www.visitcopenhagen.com

Leave a Reply

