He knows no fear!

Scotland long distance walks: West Highland Way – part 4

Today was day 4 and I was going to trek from Crianlarich to Bridge of Orchy, a distance of 21 kms (13 miles).

It was raining very heavy as I lay inside my tent. I was worried that I was going to have to get up and depack my tent in the pouring rain! But with my special forces training, I am used to hardship.

So, I depack my tent in the pouring rain whilst getting soaked.

The path continues through the forest.

The forest streams were overflowing.

The forest streams were overflowing.

Many parts of the path was completely flooded and I had to wade through overflowing streams. My boots got very wet!

The path was completed flooded.

The path was completed flooded.

Leaving the forest I cross over the River Fillan and follow the farm road to Kirkton. Among the trees by Kirkton Farm are the ruins of St. Fillans Chapel and its graveyard.

The ruins of St Fillans Chapel.

The ruins of St Fillans Chapel.

Soon I reach the town of Tyndrum. This town is a popular tourists stopoff for package coach tours. Many tourists with expensive cameras were here but none of the them were soggy after experiencing wild camping in the highlands.

From Tyndrum the path follow the line of the old military road.

From Tyndrum the Way pick up the old military road.

From Tyndrum the Way pick up the old military road.

The rain continues and I decided to head off northwards.

Looking back on Tyndrum.

Looking back on Tyndrum.

This section of the West Highland Way has outstanding mountain scenery – but I never got to see any because of the awful weather.

It was pouring!

It was pouring!

The path follows the West Highland Line railway. To the right of the Way are two viaducts contructed to carry the West Highline Line north towards Fort William. But in the bad weather I could not see the viaducts.

The road goes around the hillside.

The road goes around the hillside.

My feet was getting mushy and I felt my foam stuffing becoming mouldy.

The path passes a farm.

The path passes a farm.

The path passes stunning mountain scenery.

I was getting soaked.

I was getting soaked.

The rain shown no signs of stopping.

The path follows the railway line.

The path follows the railway line.

I could see the hamlet of the Bridge of Orchy in this distance.

This caravan was in the middle of nowhere!

This caravan was in the middle of nowhere!

The old military road reaches the Bridge of Orchy.

The Bridge of Orchy.

The Bridge of Orchy.

The bridge is said to be the best example of the old military road bridges.

This bridge is a fine example of the engineering of the old military road.

This bridge is a fine example of the engineering of the old military road.

After over two days of persistant rainfall I was soaked and needed drying off. I decided to cheat and to book into a hotel. At my age of 18 years old, I am not as young and fit as I used to be so felt justified into booking into a hotel (18 years for a monkey is the equivalent to 75 years for a human). My foam stuffing was going mouldy!

The hotel that I booked into.

The hotel that I booked into.

I was treating myself to luxury.

My "DRY" room for the night!

My “DRY” room for the night!

I had a hot bath after many days of living wild. The hotel staff then hung me up to dry on the washing line.

I was eager for a hot bath.

I was eager for a hot bath.

That night, I was to sleep in a warm and dry bed!

I was enjoying being dry once again!

I was enjoying being dry once again!

The next morning I was completely dry and ready to carry on with my walk…. but it was still pouring!

To be continued….

For more information on the West Highlands Way please visit:

www.west-highland-way.co.uk

Leave a Reply

