He knows no fear!

Scotland long distance walks: West Highland Way – part 6

Today was day 6 and the last day of my long distance walk. I was going to trek from Kinlochleven to Fort William, a distance of 24 kms (16 miles).

Once again it was a clear skies day. I slept well inside my tent last night with a few beers.

The path to Fort William is a good path at this last stage. There is a steep climb out of Kinlochleven, then there are no more serious gradients. The path through Nevis Forest is a bit rough, then on to some tarmac descending into Fort William. The sight of Ben Nevis is impressive. The highest mountain in Britain, I had climbed this mountain back in 2010. For details of my climb in 2010 see the link below:

www.britisharmysgtmonkey.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/my-climb-up-ben-nevis-in-scotland

I have no photographs to show you as my camera died last night! So there you go, no battery and no photos.

Anyway I made it to Fort William and celebrated completing my walk in six days.

My backpack weighed a mere 14.5 kgs when I got home. It was 25.9 kgs when I started the walk.

When I got back home, I checked my feet for sores and blisters.

My feet were sore with blisters

My feet were sore with blisters

I had blisters….

Having finished my walk, I had to examine my sore feet.

Having finished my walk, I had to examine my sore feet.

….as well as my foam going mouldy!

I was examining my feet for blisters.

I was examining my feet for blisters.

Luckly for me, I know first aid.

I put a plaster on my sore feet.

I put a plaster on my sore feet.

I did my walk. A cuddly toy completing the 96 miles route in six days.

I would like to thank all the people who supported me in my long distance walk.

– The End –

For more information on the West Highlands Way please visit:

www.west-highland-way.co.uk

Leave a Reply

