He knows no fear!

My travels to Portugal in 2013 – part 1

After spending Xmas day with my monkey relatives I decided on a wee break in the sun.

Today I am back from my little Christmas break to Lisbon in Portugal. Lisbon is the capital of Portugal.

My first sight on my wishlist was the Praça do Comércio. This is a famous square on the banks of the Tagus River. The square is still commonly known as Terreiro do Paço. The square was the sight of the Royal Ribeira Palace before it was destroyed in 1755 Lisbon Earthquake.

View of the statue of King José I and the arch in the famous Terreiro do Paço.

View of the statue of King José I and the arch in the famous Terreiro do Paço.

It was a cool day in Lisbon with some grey clouds. I was hoping that I would be wearing my shorts and sunglasses but it wasn’t the weather for it.

I was admiring the view.

I was admiring the view.

The tram is a traditional form of public transport in Lisbon.

Lisbon is famous for it trams.

Lisbon is famous for it trams.

These days, the yellow trams are now a tourism attraction.

The iconic ancient tram of modern Lisbon.

The iconic ancient tram of modern Lisbon.

The trams were introduced in the 19th century and originally imported from the USA.

Roasted chestnuts a tradition in Portugal and Spain.

Roasted chestnuts a tradition in Portugal and Spain.

The Christmas season was upon us and the lights were out as well as winter market traders.

The festival lights on show.

The festival lights on show.

I was staying in a posh hotel appartment that had it own special TV room.

I was happy with the TVs in my hotel room.

I was happy with the TVs in my hotel room.

After a day of sight seeing I decided to hit the town and get wasted.

A little bar under the staircase.

A little bar under the staircase.

This little bar was under the staircase of the central station.

The bar sells shots of cherry liqueur for 1.35 Euros.

These little liqueur bars are all around Lisbon and are popular with drinkers alike. Often a crowd gathers outside the bar onto the street.

After getting wasted on cherry liqueurs I headed off to the red light district to play with the gals.

Lisbon sex shop.

Lisbon sex shop.

I soon came across my first sex shop.

The shop sells many clothing of erotic nature.

The shop sells many clothing of erotic nature.

I was enjoying myself.

A photographer caught me coming out of the sex shop!

A photographer caught me coming out of the sex shop!

My picture was published all over the national papers and I was ashame being caught coming out of a sex shop. How was I going to face my relatives on New Year’s Eve.

The next day I was going to visit Belém, a World Heritage Site.

To be continued….

For more information about Lisbon please visit:

http://www.golisbon.com

Leave a Reply

