He knows no fear!

My trekking trip to the Scottish Highlands, Easter weekend 2014

It was a lovely sunny weekend in Scotland which was unusual for the region. So I took the chance to go trekking in the Scottish Highlands.

I was staying in the village of Kinlochleven. The village is hidden away at the head of Loch Leven set amongst the mountains and moors of the Scottish Highlands. The village was going to be my home for the long bank holiday easter weekend.

I was staying in what can only be described as a Hobbit burrow. Basically a large wooden barrel on it side that has bunks for up to four people and a monkey, as well as a microwave and a TV.

Me posing next to my Hobbit burrow.

Me posing next to my Hobbit burrow.

With sunny blue skies I was eager to go trekking along the path to Nevis Forest.

I was needing a coffee before my trek.

I was needing a coffee before my trek.

The path to Nevis Forest follows the West Highland Way northwards for about 12 miles from Kinlochleven.

A map of Nevis Forest.

A map of Nevis Forest.

The map shows the route I was taking on the westward side of Glen Nevis with Ben Nevis on the east side.

Me at the start of my trek.

Me at the start of my trek.

I was glad to have my factor 50 suncream on as I didn’t want to get burnt cotton.

Overlooking Kinlochleven.

Overlooking Kinlochleven.

The trek starts with a climb up the mountains overlooking Kinlochleven.

Me admiring the views.

Me admiring the views.

It was a clear sunny day to be up in the mountains.

It was good to see such good weather in the mountains.

It was good to see such good weather in the mountains.

I was lucky enough to see wild deers.

Red deers in the Scottish Highlands.

Red deers in the Scottish Highlands.

Eventually the path starts to descend into Nevis Forest.

The climb through the forest was hard going.

The climb through the forest was hard going.

Overlooking the tree tops was Ben Nevis, the largest mountain in the UK.

Looking across Glen Nevis and viewing Ben Nevis.

Looking across Glen Nevis and viewing Ben Nevis.

It is not often to get a clear view of the mountain with such good weather….

The snowy peak of Ben Nevis.

The snowy peak of Ben Nevis.

….and the mountain still had snow on the summit.

Ben Nevis is the highest mountain in the British Isles. Standing at 1,344 metres (4,409 ft) above sea level.

Ben Nevis is the highest mountain in the British Isles. Standing at 1,344 metres (4,409 ft) above sea level.

I had climbed this mountain back in 2010. For details of my climb in 2010 see the link below:

www.britisharmysgtmonkey.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/my-climb-up-ben-nevis-in-scotland

I saw the extremely rare six foot long Scottish Crocodile basking in the sun (or was it 6 cms!)

I saw the extremely rare six foot Scottish Crocodile.

I saw the extremely rare six foot Scottish Crocodile.

It was time to head back to Kinlochleven.

The sun sets over the highlands.

The sun sets over the highlands.

After my trek I needed a Scotch whisky before crashing out for the night.

Having a whisky before beddy times.

Having a whisky before beddy times.

I headed back home to continue readying my troops for WW3 and the pending NATO invasion of the Crimea.

Leave a Reply

