He knows no fear!

My travels to Morocco in 2014 – part 2

Today was to be the start of my trek into the mountains.

The start of my trek was from the village of Imlil. Here guides and mules can be hired. To be honest to climb Mt. Toubkal, you do not need a so called guide but the touts in Imlil will try to convince you to hire one anyway.

The start of the trek.

The start of the trek.

I was to spend a day to trek around the mountain villages at a lower altitude before heading back to Imlil to start the two day ascent of Mt. Toubkal.

My guide led me up the path.

My guide led me up the path.

My guide was quite shy and did not like to show his face.

A village in the mountains.

A village in the mountains.

Stunning scenery in the mountains.

Stunning scenery in the mountains.

The village is around a oasis.

The village is around a oasis.

I was not impressed by the toilets provided.

I was not impressed by the toilets provided.

Me enjoying the sun.

Me enjoying the sun.

At this lower altitude is was around 17 to 22 degrees Celsius. This compares with Marrakesh being in the high thirties. The summit of Mt. Toubkal is below zero degrees Celsius.

It was very hot and dry at this altitude.

It was very hot and dry at this altitude.

I was glad that I had quality boots.

I was glad that I had quality boots.

My luggage mule stuggled to keep up with me.

My luggage mule stuggled to keep up with me.

Enjoying the view.

Enjoying the view.

It was very hot and I was glad that I had my sunhat on.

It was very hot and I was glad that I had my sunhat on.

Hundreds of goats.

Hundreds of goats.

They were everywhere, even up the trees.

They were everywhere, even up the trees.

My luggage mule was carrying my kit.

My luggage mule was carrying my kit.

My luggage mule.

My luggage mule.

It was also windy and my hair kept blowing into my face.

It was also windy and my hair kept blowing into my face.

Sighting of the mountains in ths distance.

Sighting of the mountains in ths distance.

I could see the snow top mountains in the distance.

I could see the snow top mountains in the distance.

The snow top mountains in the distance.

The snow top mountains in the distance.

The first sighting of Imlil.

The first sighting of Imlil.

I could see Imlil in the distance.

I could see Imlil in the distance.

The village of Imlil coming into view.

The village of Imlil coming into view.

The village of Imlil in the valley.

The village of Imlil in the valley.

My hotel was not as advertised in the brochure.

My hotel was not as advertised in the brochure.

Having a mint tea at a rest hut.

Having a mint tea at a rest hut.

I was knackered after my first day.

I was knackered after my first day.

To be continued….

For more information about Morocco please visit:

www.visitmorocco.com

Leave a Reply

