He knows no fear!

My travels to Morocco in 2014 – part 4

I was up at 4am so that I could be ready for the 5am ascent to the summit of Mt. Toubkal.

At 4,167 metres (13,671 ft), it is the highest peak in the Atlas Mountains and in North Africa.

After my night of gas choking at the refuge, I had a splitting headache and vomiting. But I soon recovered after I got some fresh air that was lacking inside the awful refuge.

From the refuge the path crosses the stream and then begins a climb of a steep scree slope.

Looking up the scree slope from the refuge.

Looking up the scree slope from the refuge.

Putting my feet up.

Putting my feet up.

The path crosses a stream.

The path crosses a stream.

A waterfall next to the stream crossing.

A waterfall next to the stream crossing.

Looking down at the refuge.

Looking down at the refuge.

Looking down the scree slope.

Looking down the scree slope.

It was a clear morning but cold.

It was a clear morning but cold.

Getting higher up the slope.

Getting higher up the slope.

It had snowed overnight here.

It had snowed overnight here.

The sunrise over the peaks.

The sunrise over the peaks.

Looking down the scree slope.

Looking down the scree slope.

Seeing the peaks of distance mountains.

Seeing the peaks of distance mountains.

The route then climbs another steep slope to reach a col (Tizi’n’Toubkal at 3,940m).

The Tizi'n'Toubka col at 3,940 metres.

The Tizi’n’Toubka col at 3,940 metres.

Looking down from the col.

Looking down from the col.

At the col the route turns left (northwards) to the summit ridge of Jbel Toubkal.

The first sighting of the summit.

The first sighting of the summit.

Not far now....

Not far now….

Almost there....

Almost there….

The summit is reached.

The summit is reached.

The 4,167m summit is crowned with a curious pyramidal metal frame and views take in most of the Atlas Mountains.

It was crowded at the summit.

It was crowded at the summit.

The metal pyramid is covered in graffiti.

The graffiti metal pyramid.

The graffiti metal pyramid.

The view from the top.

The view from the top.

Rock stucture at the top.

Rock stucture at the top.

Me on the summit of Mt. Toubkal.

Me on the summit of Mt. Toubkal.

Enjoying the view from the top.

Enjoying the view from the top.

I could see for miles.

I could see for miles.

I could see all of the Atlas Mountains.

I could see all of the Atlas Mountains.

I made it to the top!

I made it to the top!

It was cold at the top.

It was cold at the top.

I did not have a pen on me!

I did not have a pen on me!

Not sure how they got this stucture up here?

Not sure how they got this stucture up here?

After heading back to city I decided to get p***ed!

– The End –

For more information about Morocco please visit:

www.visitmorocco.com

Leave a Reply

