He knows no fear!

My travels to Turkey in 2015 – part 1

I am back from my two week holiday in Turkey.

I was staying in a self-catering appartment in Göcek near to the tourist resort of Fethiye. By staying in Göcek I was away from the tacky all day English breakfast cafes and Sky Sports TV bars that is awash with sunburnt rowdy English louts who are on their tenth pint of beer by midday.

A map of the part of Turkey I was travelling around.

A map of the part of Turkey that I was travelling around.

Göcek is a small town in Fethiye district in Muğla Province, Turkey. It was named “Kalimche” in ancient times, and is located near to Dalyan and Caunos in ancient times.

The town mosque with the butchers on the corner.

The town mosque with the butchers on the corner.

The town itself has many marinas and is popular as a destination for yachting.

One of the marinas in Göcek.

One of the marinas in Göcek.

My appartment had an swimming pool that I was able to relax at.

Topping up my sexy cotton fur tan!

Topping up my sexy cotton fur tan!

For my first day of sightseeing I was going to visit Fethiye marina and also see the Lycian rock tombs.

A boat passes the front of the marina.

A boat passes the front of the marina.

It was good to take a walk along the marina.

Walking around the marina.

Walking around the marina.

Many boats here can be chartered here for daytrips to the islands.

Traditional fishing boats as well as super yachts.

Traditional fishing boats as well as super yachts.

In the marina I saw two turtles.

A turtle swims under a boat.

A turtle swims under a boat.

Turtles are common on this part of the Turkish coastline.

A second turtle appeared.

A second turtle appeared.

The historic region of Lycia was a geopolitical region in the provinces of Antalya and Muğla on the southern coast of Turkey.

The ancient Lycian Rock Tombs.

The ancient Lycian Rock Tombs.

The landscape of this region is scattered with over 1400 rock tombs. The tombs date back to the 4th century.

I was enjoying my sightseeing.

I was enjoying my sightseeing.

The Lycians believed that their dead were carried to the afterlife by magic winged creatures and thus they placed their honored dead in geographically high places such as the cliffside.

Ancient burial tombs.

Ancient burial tombs.

The fee to enter the tombs is 5 TL (approx. £1.25).

Steps led up to the tombs.

Steps led up to the tombs.

Getting to the tombs from the marina is easy as the tombs are easily visable from the marina. Just keep walking uphill to get to them.

I got up the steps to the top.

I got up the steps to the top.

From the top, the whole of Fethyie can be viewed.

I need water after this climb!

I need water after this climb!

Within the area of the tombs were wild tortoises.

A wild tortoise.

A wild tortoise.

They were a common sight.

I was able to get close up photographs.

I was able to get close up photographs.

After visiting the tombs I made my way back to my appartment for some serious sunbathing with a very sexy gal at the pool.

To be continued….

For more information about Turkey please visit:

www.goturkey.com

Leave a Reply

